Tennis' leading expert? Data. Let's build a Smarter Planet.Find Tickets Online at ticketmaster
US Open
USOpen.org
Presented by Emirates
  • Pre-Event
  • Day:
  • 1
    Monday, August 27
  • 2
    Tuesday, August 28
  • 3
    Wednesday, August 29
  • 4
    Thursday, August 30
  • 5
    Friday, August 31
  • 6
    Saturday, September 1
  • 7
    Sunday, September 2
  • 8
    Monday, September 3
  • 9
    Tuesday, September 4
  • 10
    Wednesday, September 5
  • 11
    Thursday, September 6
  • 12
    Friday, September 7
  • 13
    Saturday, September 8
  • 14
    Sunday, September 9
  • 15
    Monday, September 10
  • Post-Event

Match of the Day presented by Emirates Airline

Novak Djokovic
Serbia
vs.
Andy Murray
United Kingdom
by Neil Schlecht
Monday, September 10, 2012

Andy Murray, the rangy Scot and lone member of the “Big Four” without a Slam on his resume, quite emphatically played the match of his life to capture his first major championship, outlasting defending champion Novak Djokovic in an enthralling 4-hour, 54-minute, five-set victory, 7-6 (10), 7-5, 2-6, 3-6, 6-2. The match tied the record for the longest final in US Open history.

The first set alone lasted one hour, 27 minutes, terminating in a nailbiter of a tiebreak. Murray, the recent Olympic gold medalist, held on to win a tight second set, squandering a 4-0 lead. But Djokovic roared back to win the next two, forcing a decisive fifth set.

On a perfect, sunny September afternoon – albeit one with high winds rippling the American flag atop Ashe Stadium and making the umpire’s mic rumble like a cargo train – Murray held his nerve, a quality he has never been renowned for, to prevent Djokovic from winning his second US Open crown and sixth major overall. The match was an exhilarating baseline display in difficult conditions: exactly what the capacity crowd, and surely all of the UK, had waited for.

Earlier this year Murray hired Ivan Lendl, who also suffered through four Grand Slam finals before triumphing (he would go on to win eight), to coach him. Lendl not only encouraged Murray to be more aggressive at key moments, he seemed to impart a new mental toughness and sense of calm and perspective.  

Murray may have remained calm deep into the fifth set, but he seemed stunned and enervated when Djokovic’s last shot sailed long, too tired to climb the stands to salute his family and team.

The newly crowded Slam champion left it to Djokovic to sum it up: “It was a tremendous match to be a part of.”

Related Content
Comments
Live Scores - IBM Slamtracker
TV Schedule
Schedule of Play
USOpen.org Radio Off Air
Secure your 2013 US Open Tickets Today!